My #madeofgreat best friend for life!


My #madeofgreat best friend for life!

God could not come down on earth to personally be with us through our highs and lows in life; so he made BEST FRIENDS. Do you have a best friend? That person could be anyone your siblings, parent, grandparent, childhood friend, or someone you have known for a long time. They are the same people whom you can trust blindly without battling an eyelid. They are the same people who know and can predict your every and thought and action. They are the ones who will pull your leg and laugh at you but also cry with you. Ultimately, they are the ones whom you can always count because they always have your back.

I never realized how my best friend, Indra could change my life forever. But he did make the most dramatic changes in my life in the most subtle manner. I used to be the most confused person on this planet. My decision-making skills were nil, and I always tried to seek advice from my loved ones. Without thinking about what my interests were or reflecting on my passion, I chose to take sales as my career option just because I heard from so-called ‘reliable sources’ that sales was the easiest route to minting money. I wonder if it was greed that took over me, but I persuaded myself to pursue a Master’s degree in Management. I was fluent in speaking English, and only that mattered to me. Though Indra did warn me about staying away from that career field, I chose to ignore his advice because earning big bucks was more alluring.

I landed myself a great sales job, and I was happy. But, my happiness was short-lived. I was grounded by reality because I soon realized that I was a misfit in the world of sales. Roaming door to door or company to company was not my cup of tea. It was tiring hectic and made me ill. I remembered Indra’s warnings. I wish I had taken his suggestion. He kept questioning me about what I wanted from life and how I was planning my career path. Since we are school friends, I recollected the competitive vibes we had in studies. He didn’t spare me even for the extra-curricular activities. It seemed like we were always racing and trying to reach the finish line first. We both shared a common love for writing. Since, Indra was already into the profession of technical writing and editing, he knew, writing was my first love as well.

He guided me in quitting my sales job and motivated me to take up my passion for writing as my profession. It didn’t seem enticing at first as I believed content writing was something people would look down upon. I knew people would make a mockery of me having persuaded my MBA only to become a content writer. I was afraid, but at the back of my mind, I knew Indra wouldn’t go wrong with his decisions. I don’t know he did that, and I still wonder how he manages to take the right decisions. But somehow his intuitions are always right. Be it in fashion, computer, electronics, philosophical, or any other field, his knowledge is commendable. What amazes me about him is the way he channelizes his learnings and applies to his daily life. He has not only been a best friend, but also a guide and teacher who inspires me to be optimistic, learn from my mistakes, and take up new challenges each day.

He set up a blog for me and guided me to manage my blog website and write posts. He was the brainchild and came up with great creative ideas. Though, I found the whole process of blogging quite rigid at first because there was not a single follower and my posts weren’t getting any likes. But gradually, I started getting good feedback for my posts. Indra ensured I made a good resume for myself and researched about different blogging contests. I bagged an incredible job for myself, and I am indeed happy. Right from ensuring I get on to a healthy diet to teaching me to operate new software and computer tricks, he ensures I stay happy always, he has been my pillar of strength.

Being my bestie, one thing that I learned from this person #madeofgreat is that, when you climb a mountain, don’t waste your time thinking what’s on the other side awaiting you. Enjoy the journey as you climb along. Indra was the risk-taker. He’d say, “People who are born into poor families keep cribbing and cursing their luck all their life. The truth is if you are born poor, it is not your fault; but, if you die poor then you alone are to be blamed for it.” One has to take significant risks to find their success. Steve Jobs would never be Steve Jobs, had he not taken the risk to start Macintosh. Neither would we even see the face of Facebook had Zuckerburg not brainstormed and taken the risk of manifesting his ideas. Though, I was just Indra’s best friend, he risked his time and efforts in molding and nurturing me. If he wouldn’t, perhaps I wouldn’t even be writing this post today. Life is all about finding that zeal, passion, and hunger for knowledge and learning. I hope to imbibe his qualities and inculcate them in my daily life. His thirst for living life meaningfully comes across as he tells me, “Don’t just live life by counting your years, but count the number of times you have lived life in all your years.”

For more such heartwarming stories on love, life, and friendship and wonderful people who are #madeofgreat, visit, http://madeofgreat.tatamotors.com/

P.S. This post is a part of a contest held by IndiBlogger for Tata Motors’#madeofgreat campaign.

8 comments

  1. You really are very lucky to have such a kind heart with you. True friend is an actual companion for a person. We will never feel alone when we have one. Excellent article.

    Like

  2. you are very lucky to have a #madeofgreat person in your life
    Indeed a nicely written post. I wish you good luck for the contest
    Here is my answer
    The association of Tata Motors with Lionel Messi is that of two greats. Lionel Messi has been exceptionally talented who with his hard work, determination and sacrifices has got better and tougher in his chosen sport so is the Image, reputation and quality of TATA Motors that have transformed brilliant ideas into masterpieces of engineering and created a brand and products that we are so proud of as Indians. Lionel Messi has transformed his body and the mind body co-ordination into a masterpiece of precision and excellence it would not be wrong to say that Lionel Messi is the TATA Motors of sports where as TATA Motors is the Lionel Messi of vehicles both giants in their own spheres driven by the drive to excel and lead by example. So Lionel Messi is the best choice for becoming the brand Ambassador for TATA Motors
    aaloke19@gmail.com

    Like

  3. I have been reading many peoples posts. But, I have to say, yours was very different. We don’t have to look around searching for people made of great, when we have our family and best friends in our life who complete us. They are genuinely made of great because they do a lot to make our lives better. Thanks for sharing your story. Well-written!

    Like

  4. Your post defines #madeofgreat in a awesome manner.Very well written and interesting post indeed.
    My Answer
    Tata Motors is a brand that makes durable vehicles, with its MADE IN INDIA mark makes every Indian proud. It is a brand seen globally as Trusted, Reliable, Innovative and at the forefront of technology. In its journey since inception it has overcome all odds, competition, and adversities with grit and determination. These same qualities are associated with Lionel Messi who was very talented and hardworking from a very early age. With each game that he played he kept improving his skills and built a career to become one of the best player of professional football. There qualities make both TATA Motors and Lionel Messi giants who perfectly compliment each other and Lionel Messi the right and perfect Ambassador who stands for the same values that TATA Motors does.
    bhuwan198grover@gmail.com

    Like

  5. Yes I totally agree with this post, you will find actual heroes not only outside your home but within as well. The best part is how one person has truly inspired you to take on challenges and yet succeed so elegantly in them. I wish you all the best and hope that you succeed in this challenge as well. Keep writing such inspiring and awesome articles 🙂

    Like

  6. Your story is very touching and inspiring as well. You are very lucky to have such a great friend in your life. I see the same quality in my mom as she has always been my moral support and has guided me in every way. When I went thorugh a breakup, I was devastated and very depressed, but my mom was the one who helped me out of depression and showed me how to find the right partner in life.

    I wish you all the best for the contest 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

