Unraveling my adventurous food fix with TinyOwl!


Unraveling my adventurous food fix with TinyOwl!

We are Indians, and we are hard-core foodies by birth. But, we are also ‘jugaadus’. If we crave for our favorite meal, we ensure that we get it on the table by hook or crook. That is true, isn’t it? But to what length are we willing to go ensure that our every meal is a memorable one. Today, I am going to share with you one of my craziest food fix story. So, join me and my friend Nishi as we embark on this mad and epic story that defines our love for food.

Source: 1

Source: 1 , 2

I wasn’t able to figure out why people needed to make use of online portals and application to order their favorite meals. I thought perhaps they were just addicted to the so-called ‘convenience’ of placing an order to resolve their food fix. I wondered why there was so much buzz about this latest mobile app called as TinyOwl. What is so special about this app? Why are people crazy about it? Nevertheless, I didn’t think I needed it. I was not interested in even knowing what it was.

At office hours, during a conversation with one of my colleagues, we spoke about the cuisines we preferred and our choice of food. We kept sharing tales of how we were in awkward situations. Especially, how we overcooked or burnt meals and the craziness that we went through to ensure we could grab a bite to pacify our cravings. We laughed as we spoke about it not realizing what destiny had planned in store for me in the next coming week. My colleague then asked me if I had tasted the Benne Dosa and Akki Rotti, which are two authentic Bangalorean dishes that are served in local restaurants in Bangalore. I shook my head in disbelief because I had not even heard of them in spite of being born in Bangalore. Before I could realize it, I was embarrassed in front of the colleague.

 Regardless of anything, I have to pack my bags and head to Bangalore the next week so that I could indulge in my hometown local cuisine. How could I not know about these dishes? I had been making yearly summer vacation trips to Bangalore ever since I was a kid, and how was it possible that I had never tasted these dishes to satisfy my taste buds. So, I decided to tug my best friend, Nishi along with me.

As soon as we reached the place we settled in Nishi’s bungalow. There on, we were on a mission to eat the best food from the best local restaurants. But, wait a second? What was I supposed to run around the streets with Google Maps navigating for restaurants? Unfortunately, for the first couple of days, we ended up doing that. Nishi could not believe how insane we had turned for the sake of delicious food. During our 6-day stay in Bangalore, I was determined to forget all my fitness plans and hog up on those particular dishes. We did taste the authentic rice and fish curry that was the staple diet of the people there, yet there was still no sign of the traditional Akki Rotti or Benne Dosa meal.

Coincidently, the third day of our stay happened to be Nishi’s birthday. I secretly invited all her relatives who lived nearby. I planned to bake her favorite chocolate cake and give her a surprise while she was out with some of her cousins. My baking or cooking skills weren’t that great but I still wanted it to be special for my bestie. But, as bad luck would have had it, the cake got burnt in the oven. There was no way, I could fix up the mess. I sat there thinking of what could be done browsing through my phone contact list and trying to figure out who should I call for help. I then glanced at the TinyOwl application thumbnail on my home screen. O gosh! I had completely forgotten about this app. Could it help me out at this moment? Could it save my best friend’s special day? Would they help me find bakery outlets here in my area? My eyes sparkled.

Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6

Can it help me find the best restos around for BENNE DOSA?? Oh no! I was a fool all this time. I immediately opened the app and started checking it out. It detected my location via GPS and within a fraction of a second, it displayed a list of restaurants, ice cream parlors, and bakeries in the vicinity. It also presented user ratings so that I could choose the ones which were popular.

Thankfully, the interface was super-smooth, so I could swipe to choose meals. The moment I tapped the app, it displayed incredible surprises in the form of the best dishes in the area. It helped ensure that I didn’t have to go through a bunch of menus as it showcased handpicked dishes for the best food experience. It also offered discounts on a couple of dishes and had a scheme for referral discounts. How cool is that, isn’t it?  But, I didn’t have enough time, because Nishi would be back in 1 hour. I quickly placed an order on the app for a death-by-chocolate cake from ‘Corner’s House’s’. The payment was processed safely and smoothly via net banking. Now I had my fingers crossed. Let’s hope the app does not disappoint me, and the cake reaches our doorstep on time. I further browsed through the app and searched for Benne Dosa and Akki Rotti, I even found that available in a resto that was located in the same area. There was no other way; I could surprise Nishi with it. Finally! After a nerve wracking 30 minutes, the delivery boy arrived with the parcel. And after a couple of minutes so did my BFF with a puzzled look on her face. As soon as she saw the cake and the food, she gasped and was zapped ecstatic! “What on earth did you do? How did you manage to get the food?” she asked. I explained everything to her while she could not contain her excitement.

Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7

Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 ,

We ate, danced, and made merry! It was a beautiful day in our lives. We kept laughing over our foolish selves of how we roamed the streets in search of food when our very own ‘food detector’ TinyOwl was already installed in my smartphone. At the end of the day, it may just be an app, but for me it was one of the best things that helped me surprise, Nishi. It helped create a special moment in the lives of two best friends. Sure now all my food fixes can rely on TinyOwl to do the needful. Thank you, Tiny Owl for creating special memories that we are going to cherish for years to come.

For more such stories and to know how to access this awesome app, visit, Android, and iOS

P.S. This post is a part of a contest held by IndiBlogger for TinyOwl’s #FoodTaleswithTinyOwl campaign
9 comments

  1. I liked the part where you were hunting for food. I have often encountered such situation during my trip to North India. Feeling nostalgic.

    Like

  2. Despite my numerous trips to Bangalore, I think I’ve not had Benne Dosa.
    Co-incidentally my food fix also happened in Bangalore! 🙂

    Good Luck for the contest!

    Like

    1. Hey Gauri, thanks a lot! You must try the Benne Dosa, it is supremely delicious and irresistible! And it is nice to hear that your food fix happened in Bangalore itself.. Good luck to you as well!! 😀

      Like

  3. Yummy! I am from Bangalore and I know for sure that Benne Dosa is one of the most relishing food item here. No wonder you had your food fix on this 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes very true, Rahul! Benne Dosa is one of the must-try dishes in Bangalore. It is so versatile and lip-smacking that it can be had at any time of the day. Thanks a lot for liking my story. And yes, do make sure you download TinyOwl on your phone. It is awesome!

      Like

  4. The dosa sounds too tasty. After reading your food fix story, I feel nostalgic about how I had gone to Agra just to try the famous chole bhature. Do try it and write about it in your blog. I am sure readers would love hearing about it.

    Like

    1. Hahaha.. thanks a lot, Tahera! It is nice to know that you felt the same while at Agra.

      P.S. I will surely try the popular Chole Bhature and review it on my blog. Thanks for the suggestion, dear! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

