#KhuljayeBachpan: A new approach to parenting!


#KhuljayeBachpan: A new approach to parenting!

Parenting! It’s like a double-edged sword. You can either instill the right values in your child by disciplining them and by being a taskmaster. Or you can choose to let them take their decisions. Would you let your little one learn to pick themselves once they fall? Are you willing to let them learn from their mistakes without being authoritative? Most importantly, are parents ready to empathize with their children and create a beautiful world for them? A world where parents and kids share a cool friendship?

When I sat with my friends to discuss and share tales about our respective childhood, most of them cribbed how their parents were always nagging and scolding them on petty issues. While they were talking about it, I realized how lucky I was to have got such open minded and wonderful parents. I am not saying their parents were wrong. As responsible parents, they were just doing their duty of inculcating discipline and good values in their children. But, the predicament that lies here is that the approach they adopted towards parenting their children was wrong. At the end of the day, it’s about building a strong connection- an emotional bond between the child and parent. For heaven sake, parents need to know that their children are gentle souls who need to be treated with love and care during their growing up years. And not like a set of employees who need to be trained and disciplined until their probation period.  It’s all about finding the right approach towards parenting the kid, and that made me reflect on some of the heartwarming memories of my parents

1. Facing Bullies

I have always admired mom and dad for living life by their terms. And for the unique form of parenting that they adopted in nurturing me and making me what I am today. Young minds are like clay. They can be molded to perfection if they are crafted by the hands of the right potter. Today children are compelled to study. They mug up notes only to pass in exams. What about knowledge? My parents always encouraged me to learn for the sake of imbibing knowledge. I remember how the other kids at school used to bully and make fun of me because of my passion for reading. The bullying continued for days until it finally went beyond my tolerance. I sobbed and narrated all the bullying incidents to my mother. Like any other mother, she should have gone to school and complained to my class teacher and principal, isn’t it? But, no! She didn’t do that! Instead, she wanted me to be brave and stand up for myself. She told me to face the bullies and tell them who I am and what are my capabilities. I thought a lot about it and finally mustered the courage, went up to them and said the words to them that my mom had told me to say, “I know why you people bully me. It’s not because you want to scare me but because you all are afraid of me. None of you can beat me in creative writing. None of you love and respect books the way I do. I love reading, and nothing can change that fact. But, I am proud of myself and not afraid of bullies like you. One more time you try rubbing me off and I am going to make sure; my complaints do not fall on deaf ears”. The bullying came to a halt as the kids even apologized.

Stand up to bullying! Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4

Stand up to bullying!
Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4

2. With my Friends

The best way a parent can ensure that their kids do not lie to them is to be open to them. Mom explained how I needed to mingle with boys and make the right friendship choices. She asked me to bring my friends home often for food while teaching us to bake and have fun. Mom didn’t want to force me to learn cooking as I would find it boring. But, she knew that I would happily learn if I had the opportunity to do it with my female group of friends. It sure was double the fun. While she used to teach us to bake, we used to teach her about the latest games on her smartphone. To stay healthy and fit, she used to encourage us to practice yoga. It was a happy moment to see my friends being comfortable in the company of mom as she was friendly with all of us rather than ‘motherly’.

Only parents can be our best guide! Source: 1 , 2, 3 , 4

Only parents can be our best guide!
Source: 1 , 2, 3 , 4

3. Dad Teaching to Save

When the other kids at school were gifted the latest schoolbag by their parents, it made me green with envy. I remember stamping my foot in rage and making grumpy faces because my parents made me use the same old bag and didn’t buy that expensive bag for me. Instead of yelling and thrashing me, dad took me by surprise. No, he didn’t do the regular emotional blackmail. Neither did he try the age-old trick of asking me to score high grades to get the toy. He didn’t want me to be a person who enjoys a give-and-take relationship. Dad ensured that I didn’t study and score well for the greed of a toy but to imbibe knowledge and learning. He told me to save a few rupees daily from the monthly pocket money that he gave me. I managed to collect a Re 1 coin in my piggy bank every day. At the end of the year, I was able to save up 300 rupees to buy myself the bag. Dad revealed to me that all this while even he too had been saving in a separate piggy bank and said we could combine our savings to buy a better gift for me. Though I didn’t realize it then, I felt proud of myself and thanked dad for having taught me the virtues of savings, sharing, patience, and perseverance.

Dad teaching to save! Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6

Dad teaching to save!
Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6

4. Parents Giving Me My Freedom

Mom dad ensured that I never had to lie to them for any reason. Lies are only said when there is a fear of letting your parents know the truth. When there is a fear that your parents won’t ever understand you and also when parents themselves have a mental block and consider their brains to be the wisest. I am not saying my parents were less protective. They were very much protective and always wished for my happiness. But, they had their own ways. The primary focus was on building a bond of trust and understanding in the parent-child relationship. Rather than forcing their decisions on me, they always allowed me to make my choice and then support me in my decision. If I accidentally broke something at home while playing in the house, instead of throwing their rage on me, then used to hug and kiss me. They would explain how our family has an additional expense to incur, due to which they would have to work extra hard at office. I didn’t want to see my parents slog due to my mistake. Hence, I always ensured playing carefully without damaging anything at home.

To cheer me up, they would prepare a bowl full of Kellogg’s Chocos. The tasty and nutritious chocolate breakfast cereal meal would instantly lift my mood and boost my energy levels. Just as Kellogg’s unlocks a child demeaning spirits, so also parents can find new, creative, and exciting techniques of participating in their child’s development and growth years.

Never take a child's childhood away from them! Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Never take a child’s childhood away from them!
Source: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Celebrate the spirit of Kellogg’s Khuljaye Bachpan initiative, and to know more information about Kellogg’s Chocos, visit, https://www.facebook.com/mychocos

 

Also, check out this exciting ad commercial of Kellogg’s Chocos below:

P.S. This post is a part of a contest held by IndiBlogger for Kellogg’s Chocos #KhuljayeBachpan campaign

14 comments

  1. The thoughts expressed here are brilliant and added to that the creativity just increases the pleasure of reading such a wonderful post. Well done and all the best!

    Like

  2. Loved the creativity put into the images. If you are interested we have an opening for creative writing at our ad agency. Send me your CV at my email address.

    Like

Leave a Reply

